The Gilaki Synagogue is the synagogue in which
today the residents of Red Settlement pray and which has never been closed. It
was built by natives of the Persian province of Gilan.
The architect of this temple is Hillel Ben Haim and his name is inscribed on the brick facade. The temple was constructed in 1896, according to the inscription on the foundation stone. The synagogue has 12 windows, one for each of Israel’s tribes. The bimah, situated under the wooden dome, is a two-tiered octahedral platform with stairs that houses a massive pulpit for reading the Torah scroll.
In 2000 during the renovation
of one of the walls of the synagogue a hiding place was discovered in which
about 50 cases for Torah scrolls were kept. It is likely that this hiding place
(a kind of genizah) contained the Torahs from all the synagogues in Red
Settlement that were confiscated by the Soviet government in the 1930s.