Established in 1850. It is classified as an individualy protected cultural heritage site. At this momemnt there are more than 500 graves
Established in 1850, the Jewish cemetery in the upper town, near the city centre, is still in use. The first Jews were buried in 1852 (the first was Marcus Pfeiffer, then the teacher Moritz Löbl and a child named Adolf Herbst), which is also considered as the year of establishing the Funeral Society of Chevra Kadisha. It has a historicist-styled chapel with ceremonial hall ('the little synagogue'). Its 500-600 tombs are reminders of the prosperity of the pre-war community. The gravestone architecture in the Jewish cemetery is marked by the inscriptions written in Hebrew, German, Hungarian and Croatian language, but designed with distinctive Jewish ornamental motifs linked to the traditional Jewish iconography. The curiosity of the cemetery is that all the graves face north, in the rows directed from east to west. This is a cemetery without a single wooden tombstone. In the multitude of monuments, from plain stone, over marble obelisks to marble rectangular memorial panels, the most famous is the Adler family tombstone. It was made in the form of an open book made by Osijek native and world famous sculptor Oskar Nemon for his mother's forefathers. It is the only old cemetery, out of about ten in total, with many available burial places, and the only one where there are no buried members of other religions. Many eminent Osijek citizens, especially doctors, lawyers, merchants and craftsmen, were buried in the cemetery.
Famous figures who have visited this site include: Branko Lustig, Oscar-winning film producer of 'Schindler's list' and 'Gladiator; Oscar Nemon, world-faamous sculptor of W. Churchill and British Royals (born as Oskar Neumann and grew up in Osijek)