One of the rare Osijek Secession villas, built in 1906 according to the design of the Osijek builder Otto Struppi as a villa for Union steam mill’s director. After the First World War, it changed its owners and became a renowned Bathory-Weissmann sanatorium, having kept its hospital function until recently. Now it has been reconstructed to its initial beauty.
The detached, elevated ground-floor corner house was built as a residence of the Union steam mill manager. It is one of the rare Osijek Secession villas. It was built in 1906 according to the design of the Osijek builder Otto Struppi. It was documented in the painting of the author Koszkol in 1906. After the First World War, it changed its owners, was adapted and annexed in 1928 having become a renowned Bathory-Weissmann sanatorium, having kept its hospital function until recently. The original, slightly changed, spatial organization, as well as the original Secession carpentry have been preserved in the interior of the villa. A one-bedroom urban villa with complex, irregular floor plan, as a freestanding building surrounded by a park with a fence separating it from the street, was one of the most representative residential Viennese Secession buildings in Osijek. The park villa, as a valuable part of the former Union building block with great architectural and artistic values, contributes to the attractiveness of the ambient atmosphere within the historic urban block. Oskar Weiszmayer and Julije Sorger - two of Union steam mill owners, Otto Felner - one of Union steam mill managers and the famous physician Karlo Weissmann, one of the later villa owners, were prominent Osijek citizens of Jewish origin.