Nowadays, Tbilisi Jews bury their relatives at the Dampalo Graveyard, which is quite far from the center of the city and the city’s two functioning synagogues, specifically located on the outskirts of Tbilisi Varketili. The name “Dampalo” is related to the unsanitary condition which emerged because of the tradition of killing animals in the district. The graveyard is maintained by the city and members of Tbilisi’s Jewish community.
The Jewish Graveyard in Samgori Tbilisi is closed nowadays to new burials. Its activation is connected to the arrival of Ashkenazi Jews in Georgia in the XIX century. Many famous personalities from the Jewish Diaspora, including the grandmother of the former Israeli Premier Minister Ariel Sharon, are buried there.
Jewish library is located in the National Parliamentary Library of Georgia; books which are stored in the library were bought by "Sarah Fond '' with the "Israeli House". These books in Hebrew, English and Russion are dedicated to the oldest and modern history of Israel, Zionism, Judaism, theology, foreign affairs of Israel. Among the books there are textbooks for learning Hebrew. On the day of the opening Hanukkah candle was lit and among the guests there were members of the Knesset. Giorgi Kekelidze, the director of the library, gave a speech at the ceremony.
This synagogue, located on Abesadze street, Tbilisi, is now functioning as the Royal District Theatre. In 1887, Jewish community of Tbilisi started collecting funds to construct a new synagogue on the land of the existing one. The construction process started in 1903. The synagogue was solemnly opened in 1918, however in 1923 it was closed. In 1928 the Committee for Helping The Neediest Jews started using the building. In 1932, the former synagogue was transformed into Jewish Culture House. The Royal District Theatre has been functioning in this building since 1997. The building has the status of cultural heritage. Despite the fact that, in 2001, the court granted Jewish community co-ownership of the building, the court decision has never been enforced.
The David Baazov Museum of History of Jews of Georgia, located on 3 Anton Catholicos St, Tbilisi, is a principal museum of the Jewish history and culture. It was established on 30 November of 1932 by the board of Garebcom as a department organization – in a cult-base of Jewish workers. It was officially established on 23 November of 1933 – demanded by the social commissariat of Georgian education. The building is built by brick; from outside it has multiple angles, while inside is round. The museum has many exhibits and rarities: archeological, ethnographic, historical, epigraphic, manuscript, printed, artistic, archives, photographs, etc. The museum has published important scientific works for Kartvelology/Georgian studies and 9 volumes of Hebrew studies. Expeditions are held by the museum in different parts of Georgia, exhibitions, international scientific conferences dedicated to the issues of the history of Georgian Jews, Georgian-Jewish and Georgian-Palestinian relations.
The Georgian National Centre of Manuscripts, located in Tbilisi, Georgia, is a repository of ancient manuscripts, of historical documents and of the private archives by eminent public figures. One of the most significant manuscripts kept in the museum is the Lailashi Bible, which was found in Lailashi village by Giorgi Tsereteli. The manuscript was brought to Georgia in the 1940s and was kept in the Museum of History of Jews until 1951. Since 1957 the manuscript has been kept in the Georgian National Centre of Manuscripts. The Lailashi Bible represents a handwritten version of Torah, accompanied with comments and colorful geometrical decorative figures. It’s also unique due to the fact that it had Jewish inscriptions and some of the geometrical decorations are colorful. The manuscript is written on parchment and is an old testament with masoretic text, which tells us a story of the first humans, the first sin and its consequences, the despature from heaven and the multiplication of humankind, but the Lailashi Bible is considered unexplored due to an assumption that it lacks sixteen pages. A paleographic analysis of the manuscript makes it possible to suggest that it belongs to the X-XI centuries. The manuscript weighs 10 Kilos. There are very few Torahs, around the world, that are made in such a way, mostly Torah is written on a scroll, while the Lailashi bible is a book, which makes it very rare for this period. The book is broken up at the moment, it is bound and doesn’t have a cover, since it needs restoration. The Lailashi bible has always been the center of attention, even criminals were interested in it and attempted to steal it in the 90s. The guard of The Georgian National Centre of Manuscripts was offered 50,000 dollars for the manuscript, but the guard did not give in.