Six to seven km away from Qirmizi Qasaba along the main highway to Qusar, just after the village of Qeleduz (Qələdüz), one can find an ancient cemetery, which is believed to the cemetery of the ancient Jewish settlement of Qulqat.
The cemetery of Qirmizi Qasaba is located higher than the village on the slope of the hill. The earliest gravestones here date back to 1807 and 1814.
On the site of the former Minsk ghetto, there was a place of execution of Jews, where at that time burials were transferred from the cemetery, which was located on the site of the present Dynamo stadium. The cemetery, which existed from 1868 to 1946, was closed at the beginning of the 1970s, and in 1990 it was completely liquidated in order to establish a park.
Image credit: The Together Plan – subject to copyright ©
Shearith Israel was the only Jewish congregation in New York City from 1654 until 1825. During this entire span of history, all of the Jews of New York belonged to the congregation. Shearith Israel was founded by 23 Jews, mostly of Spanish and Portuguese origin. The earliest Jewish cemetery in the U.S. was recorded in 1656 in New Amsterdam where authorities granted the Shearith Israel Congregation “a little hook of land situated outside of this city for a burial place.” Its exact location is now unknown. The Congregation’s “second” cemetery, which is today known as the FIRST cemetery because it is the oldest surviving one, was purchased in 1683.
Today, this cemetery is a mere fragment of its original extent. Only about a hundred headstones and above ground tombs can still be seen in what remains of the old burial ground, which rises slightly above street level. It is the only remaining 17th century structure in Manhattan.
The second cemetery – now known as “New Bowery Cemetery”. Burials began here in 1805, in what was a much larger, square plot extending into what is now the street. The Commissioners’ Plan had established the city’s grid in 1811, but not until 1830 was West 11th Street cut through, at that time reducing the cemetery to its present tiny triangle. The disturbed plots were moved further uptown to the Third Cemetery on West 21st Street. In 1852 city law forbade burial within Manhattan, and subsequent interments have been made in Queens.
The third cemetery is between loft buildings and across the street from the School Of Visual Arts on West 21st St just off 6th Avenue is the Third Cemetery. This cemetery was adjacent to the congregation’s synagogue on 19th Street–built in 1860 and now long gone.
In 1936 The Hashomerim Association, also known as The Eretz Israel Guardians Association, established a cemetery for its members. Established in July 1933, The HaShomerim Association was a guard and labor organization that identified with the labor movement and fought for organized Jewish protection.
One of the most peculiar tombs of the Jewish cemetery belongs to Fülöp Wimmer. The tall column as well as the stone memorial with hemp leaves together refer to his profession. He was the director of Szeged Hemp Weaver Company for over 40 years and was President of the Chamber of Commerce and Industry of Szeged. Fülöp Wimmer was one of the most influential hemp industrialist of the Austro-Hungarian Monarchy. Grave location: Parcel 90, line 3, grave 7
The crypt of the Holtzer family is one of the extraordinary, beautiful Art Nouveau tombs of the Szeged Jewish cemetery. Despite its ruinous state it still demonstrates the once outstanding social and economical stance of the family. Tivadar Holtzer, establisher of the first football
team and football pitch in town. Crypt location: Parcel 62, line 2, grave 2
Dr. Várhelyi Rósa Izsó was the first Jewish lawyer in the city, president of the Jewish community. His Art Deco-sytle grave is a monumental memorial closing down the end of the first main road of the cemetery. Dr Izsó Rósa (Rosenberg) (1842–1918) was a famous president of the Szeged Jewish Community, a well-known public figure and the first Jewish lawyer in the town of Szeged. He was member of the committee of 12 people responsible for rebuilding the city after the Great Flood of 1879. His house is still standing next to the National Theatre at 4 Stefánia Street. Grave location: Parcel 24, line 0, grave 2
Among the most important tombs of the cemetery, we find the Szivessy family memorial. The family was an outstanding patron of arts and culture, having several outstanding members, such as Mária. Mrs. Mária Kárász was a leading socialite and rests beside her daughter, Judit Kárász. Memorial location: Parcel 12, line 2, grave 1
The Jewish cemetery of Szeged is the final resting place of numerous outstanding artists of Szeged, including graphic artist Ármin Tardos-Taussig. The inscription is situated on the eastern side of his gravestone made of red limestone. The letters, which are delicately and artistically shaped, protrude from the engraved surface of his memorial. Although his wife’s name is also on the gravestone, she was not buried here. This location of this grave is: Parcel 71, line 1, grave 1