The Pinto House


Huis De Pinto is a former Amsterdam city mansion on the Sint Antoniesbreestraat near the Rembrandthuis. It was originally built in 1605 but is named after a leading Amsterdam family dynasty of Portuguese-Jewish merchant bankers. The founder of this dynasty was Isaack de Pinto, from Antwerp, who moved to Rotterdam in 1647 but bought the house in 1651. His son commissioned the unusual facade, and his grandson Isaac de Pinto grew up there. It is now a public library owned by the Amsterdam Monuments Trust. Inside is well worth a look – there are striking old-master paintings on the ceiling and an impressive antique chimneypiece.