The Oratories of Via delle Oche

Synagogue
SITE OVERVIEW
When the ghetto was abandoned, and the construction of the monumental temple began in the distant Mattonaia neighbourhood, part of the Jewish Community decided to nevertheless continue living in the centre of Florence. Thus in 1882 two synagogues were opened in a building owned by the community at 5, Via delle Oche. One of them belonged to the confraternity Mattir Asurim (literally “the imprisoned set free”), which had existed since the time of the ghetto, with the mission of freeing Jews who had been imprisoned for their debts. The synagogues of Via delle Oche existed until 1962 when the building was sold, and the furnishings were transferred to Israel. A decorative star motif - which belonged to the Mattir Asurim oratory and, before that, to an oratory in the old ghetto - is still visible in the floor of the oratory inside the Tempio Maggiore.
GENERAL